Russell and Copleston Square Off

Here’s the transcript of the famous Copleston-Russell Debate on the existence of God:

http://www.bringyou.to/apologetics/p20.htm

I remember reading this transcript two years ago and thinking that Copleston lost very badly.  Now I have enough philosophy under my belt to understand what both men were saying.  I still think Copleston lost the debate on religious experience, but I think he won the first section pretty clearly.  Russell’s positivism just does not seem as potent as it probably did in the 50’s.  I was also shocked to read how much of a relativist Russell was in that final section. 

However, I don’t want to ruin the debate for the rest of you.  Enjoy!

Explore posts in the same categories: Philosophy, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

